Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello. I've been following this group for a while. I fancy the Citizen Kane's Hammond light DIY and decided to do a mod. I will share some mechanical and electronic drawings with you. Keep in mind this is my first time using a 3D CAD software (Google Sketchup). There's alot of experienced mechanics in here for sure! Please tell me what you think. I'll provide many images of the 3D model with text in them (don't worry, they are small sized files for fast loading). I'm not english speeking person also, please excuse my english. Ok enough excuses..
Wow. This has been a steep learning curve. Watching youtube videos on how to draw 3D with Sketchup has helped designing alot. Its much easier to see how things fit together now. A 3D model of the Hammond box is available for download at hammonds website. I've used a plugin for Sketchup to convert from "iges"- to "skp"-files. I notice that "iges" 3D model files are the ones mostly available (for example at molex.com and hammond mfg among many). The STAR LED model was downloaded from Google 3D warehouse. A big thanks to the designer of this model. Maybe you are at this forum aswell.

Features
The features that makes this DIY a bit different than the others are:
- Integrated battery.
- Thermostat with dual tresholds (one for warning led, and the other for cutting the current at overheating).
- Pot-meter, sealed with pass-through rubber grommet on the pots axel. (see images).
- On/Off switch in pot-meter.
- Optional 8pin/8bit flash-based Microcontroller + mode-button. (create pcb footprint for soldering a microcontroller to the pcb for future firmware project).

Images of 3D Model
Front

Rear
The LED is for high-temp warning. The design may need a charging connector, or maybe ill just unscrew the cover to charge it.

External Contents

Internal Contents (Side View)