Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a college student used to riding and racing high end (xt and xtr) bicycles, and am having a bit of a tough time looking for a bike to ride around campus. I have set my budget around $400 to $450, and I am looking for advice on bikes in that range that will look, feel, and perform pretty nicely. Ideally, It would be nice to have a hard tail with some sort of adjustable rebound fork and Deore or LX components, but so far that seems a couple of hundred dollars over my head. I know my sights may just be set too high, but it can't hurt to ask. Thanks!

·
Made in Canada
415 Posts
Myself, I'm going to uni next year and have been anticipating making a bike for this exact purpose. This may not be fully ideal for you but it will get you a cheap beater bike that you won't have to worry about getting stolen. Consider buying a used HT (you could get a good framed bike for a lot cheaper than new w/ decent hubs etc), the drivetrain probably isn't the greatest if used so you can swap that out and make the bike into a single speed conversion. This will give you a cheap and reliable bike that if locked up you shouldn't have to worry about getting stolen, especially when you commute. I'm doing a similar thing, I have my old HT that I'm converting from Deore (stock 2002) to an SS and replacing the front fork w/ a rigid. This'll be cheap but give me a reliable bike. Just some food for thought. Otherwise you might want to check out Ibex bikes, you can get a bike running Sram x7 for $800 or so with decent components, Avid BB7s etc.

·
slightly strange
97 Posts
In that price range a new bike like that would be hard to find. I'd keep a watch on local classifieds, craigslist, and on here for a decent used one. The singlespeed conversion tpm7 suggested sounds like a good idea too.

·
Registered
86 Posts