Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a noob to mountain biking. Yes I have owned and ridden mountain bikes for the last 20 years, but just for commuting and riding around with friends when I was younger.

So I have a budget of about $400-$450. $550 if I really push it and eat Ramen noodles for a month:) I was wondering if I should buy a bike with a disc brake or a bike with a V/rim brake.

My dilemma is would I be better off getting a "better" model and not get disc brakes, or should I get a lower model and get low and disc brakes?

I heard Avid disc brakes are good but Promax or Tektro are not that great a a v brake may be a better option.

Example:

I can get Specialized Hardrock Disc $470(Tektro disc) or a Specialized Hardrock Sport $470 (v brake).

Or I can get a Trek 4300 (v brake) $550 or a Trek 3900 Disc $550

I just don't want to get Promax or Tektro brakes and have problems with them.

·
I Have Cookies
2,644 Posts
definitely steer clear of any "promax" disk's.....

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
dan0 said:
at that level there wont be that much difference, disc would probably be better in wet conditions,
So I shouldn't worry if I went with the lower model with Tektro Disc brakes?

·
Registered
1,808 Posts
I would buy the bike with the best fork. If it's dry where you ride nothing wrong with V brakes and good pads. I think good v brakes are better than cheap/bad disc brakes.

·
Vaginatarian
5,685 Posts
joepa150 said:
So I shouldn't worry if I went with the lower model with Tektro Disc brakes?
as long as everything else is the same

if the components overall are better on 1 than the other go with the better components
as mentioned , good rim brakes are better than bad discs, but bad discs are equal to bad rim brakes.

Discs have good qualities, but so do rim brakes. rim brakes are lighter, work fine for most and are usually cheaper and have less maintenance.