Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Complete Newbie
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am newly returned to bikes after umpteen years of another sport entirely. I have bought a bike, basically on price, which has 30 gears. I have no local friends who ride bikes. I am, by most standards, old, but not yet dead.

I realise that all 30 ratios are not practical, for example the smallest front gear driving the smallest rear gear is quite horrible to consider.

So, being mathematically minded, I have done a little spreadsheet which gives me all the ratios, for all the combinations (1.15 to 6.91).

I hope I will be corrected now in the following mathematical thinking...

I think of the front sprockets as selecting LOW, MEDIUM or HIGH gear regimes.

Logically, I would progress through the LOW gears, until I get to a ratio which is duplilcated in the MEDIUM gears. So, then I change up the front sprocket - and logically change back the rear gears as well, to get the next ratio up from where I was... NOT well explained, but I am sure you will understand. This seems to me to be the only way to progress through ratios??

Alternative thinking: start with the lowest gear on the second front gear, and only change the rear gears??

·
DynoDon
1,666 Posts
Your middle ring on the front is your primary gear, on a up hill you will go to the small ring in the front, if you want to go fast you'll use the big ring in the front/small in the rear, you may have 30 gears, but you'll only need 15 or so of them.
Zinn & the art of Mountain Bike Maintenance has a chapter on gears that will discribe it much better then I can, and there is a chart in there that will tell you the gears of any bike and how they relate to the other gears, the book is under $20 from Amazon, Borders has it too, there is plenty of useful info in that book.