Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
I'm on fire.
304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding an 04 Dakar XC for the last 2 years, love it. I never really knew what chainsuck was until recently, when it began happening to me. We've gotten a ton of rain lately, and the muddy conditions I'm sure don't help....but I've put over 1000 miles on this bike and never had chain suck happen before. Suddenly it's happened on 2 of my last 6 rides. Only while in the granny gear...switch to the middle ring and all seems fine. I replaced the crank and chainrings this past winter, and all had previously been well with the new setup. What gives? Any suggestions?

·
bi-winning
11,109 Posts
Trigger said:
I've been riding an 04 Dakar XC for the last 2 years, love it. I never really knew what chainsuck was until recently, when it began happening to me. We've gotten a ton of rain lately, and the muddy conditions I'm sure don't help....but I've put over 1000 miles on this bike and never had chain suck happen before. Suddenly it's happened on 2 of my last 6 rides. Only while in the granny gear...switch to the middle ring and all seems fine. I replaced the crank and chainrings this past winter, and all had previously been well with the new setup. What gives? Any suggestions?

I am curious of what you describe as chainsuck. It occurs when you are shifting down, and the chain does not completely release from the larger chainring, and then gets sucked up as you continue to pedal.

So, how can you get chainsuck "while in the granny gear?"

Check that none of the teeth are bent.

·
I'm on fire.
304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ha, that's pretty funny. That's exactly the lube I use. And I clean my drivetrain and relube religiously. No issues there. And I rotate new chains in regularly.