Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
moe.
371 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not a mechanic but have a good one and have had my front derailleur adjusted. I still run into chain suck a time or two on every ride . It is frustrating. I also have a Sultan '07 model and have never had chain suck. Is this a frame design issue I need to learn to live with or is there a solution? Anyone else had this problem? Thanks in advance.

·
The Bubble Wrap Hysteria
3,826 Posts
Chain suck can also be independent of any one component. For example, you're riding over some rough trail and the lower portion of the chain is slapping up and down........then it gets picked up by the large chain ring as it's slapping around....bam the next thing you notice it's sucked into the sometimes vast gap between the chain rings and frame.

It can also be caused by a stiff link in the chain but I've never heard of the Front Derailleur causing chain suck.

Solutions I use: Make sure chain length is correct. When riding rough trail use the large chain ring.

·
Proud lame eBiker
2,680 Posts
I'll also add, that this time of year you might be riding in a lot of muck. Once the drivetrain gets caked in mud, or is run dry of lube after multiple water crossings, the chance of chiansuck gets much higher.

·
Registered
267 Posts
When this starts happening to my ride it is usually mud, a sticking chain link or time to change the chain or rings or both.
#1, clean the chain and lube, clean rings and cogs
#2, check each link, any tight ones need to be loosened up.
#3, is the chain stretched? Rings worn? also check that the rings are parallel with each other and one is not bent.
#4, the chain is correct length. chain on big ring and big cog and not bound up or to tight.
I had more problems with LX rings and chain, upgrade to XT resolved a chain breakage problem and less chain suck unless muddy conditions prevail. Good Luck, Chain suck is a real bummer.

·
moe.
371 Posts