Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I feel a bit embarrassed for posting about this because I'm quite new to mountain biking and may not even have a problem! But if I do i'd really appreciate some help.

I've recently bought a new boardman MTB team but when pedaling, either the chain or cogs at the back of the bike seem to be making a strange sound; I'm not sure how to describe it so I've made a video if anyone would like to hear it. It makes the same sound when pedaling no matter what gear I'm in.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=feh-jvdKd4s&feature=youtu.be

If it's completely normal and i'm worrying about nothing I apologise for being paranoid! :eek: And if there is a problem i'd love some advice on how to sort it out.

Thanks very much!

·
Registered
1,107 Posts
probably going to explode.

That is what mine sounds like so I assume its normal but maybe I'll learn something in here too.

·
Registered
1,069 Posts
It doesn't sound too bad. The video makes it look like you are cross-chained. That is, in the smallest ring up front and the smallest cog in the back. This is a gearing combo that should be avoided along with big ring/big cog. Riding cross chained causes excessive wear and noise if done for a long time. But much depends on the set up. Google cross chaining for more info. Good luck.

·
EAT MORE GRIME
(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
6,224 Posts
not normal, ...that is way too clunky

something is misaligned, or chain too wide for cogs

you say it happens in any gear ? sumtingwong

·
Registered
756 Posts
It is hard to tell from the video, but is there an intermittent clink that is happening?

I only ask this because if there is a bad link you need to find it and you may want to replace the chain.