Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a Mongoose XR-75 and am having problems with the chain slipping over the sprockets. Seems like there isn't enough tension on the rear derailer. Any time I really put pressure on the peddles, it slips. I am having a hard time seeing what exactly is happening, but one thing I did see was that it looked like the chain bunched up as it was traveling toward the front sprocket. Doesn't matter what range I am in or what gear.
I am a noob at adjusting these things. Is there any way to do this to put more tension on it?
Larry

·
Single(Pivot)and Happy
1,778 Posts
Go to parktool.com, buy a bike repair book, or take your bike to a bike shop.

·
~Disc~Golf~
16,496 Posts
LarryGScott said:
I just bought a Mongoose XR-75 ...
not to be a dick, but there's your problem.

BTW the ParkTool recommendation that Boulder Pilot said is excellent advice.
I'm sure he knows, but why try to explain everything about tuning your drive train here, when it's better detailed there?

Or take it to the shop

·
Registered
1,625 Posts
You were given three answers to your question.

You've got a little learning to do, to be able to provide enough information for anyone to help you.

If you've got a short attention span, going to a bike shop may be best, and they can show you what to do.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I just wanted an answer to point me in the right direction. To quote highdelll "not to be a dick", but I bought this bike for not so much riding downhill or even offroad in general, but to get exercise.
I will look elsewhere for my answer.

·
~Disc~Golf~
16,496 Posts
Upon reflection, I thought I should repost and do a little clarification/ explanation...
the XR-75 is about as low in quality of componentry and build as you can go. (nothin against you personally)
The bike will simply not perform nicely - it's the nature of the beast