Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Isisrider
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, after years of mountain biking, I finally crossed over to the other side this past winter, and bought a road bike. I thought it would help with the training and give me a variety for riding when the trails are muddy. I have been riding quite a bit this spring, since it seems it has been raining alot. My longest ride, until yesterday was about 50 miles. But, yesterday I did my first century. I left the house with the intent of only riding about 60-70 miles, but I still felt good so I kept going, when I hit 80 I knew I had to make it to 100. Man, the last 15-20 miles were a killer though.

Just thought I would share.
Anybody else use a skinny tire for training or riding?

·
Registered
767 Posts
Skinny Tire Bro.

Congrats on the Century!
I've been using a road bike for about 5 years the same
reasons, muddy trails - recovery - base training etc.
I love it! My friends and I are "scenes" on road bikes though.
We show up for group rides with CamelBacks, Muddy MTB shoes,
etc. Paceline? Take a turn on the front? what are you talking about? HA!
Skinny or Fat just ride!

·
Registered
15 Posts
I just started road riding also. I bought my first road bike in March and have been riding it for about two weeks. Longest ride so far is only 40 miles so far though. I don't enjoy it as much as mtn biking but must admit, I'm having a lot of fun. It's especially nice when we get a few days of rain and the mtn trails are to wet to use without damaging them.

·
govt kontrakt projkt mgr
6,171 Posts
yeah I started road biking a bit during the last year I was at Ft Hood. Here in Honolulu the road bike is the emphasis. Just today we did a 31 miler to Makapu Lighthouse and abck to Diamomdhead and topped it off with some good crab/avacado omelets w/roasted potatoes at Bogarts Grill. Last week I kicked tail at the north shore metric century. It was my first road ride averaging over 20 MPH.