Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding ridgeline for almost 7 years and I have only had one snake encounter; a bull snake. Well, that is until today. I admit, I was very skeptical of the other two MTBR members that said they encountered a rattle snake last week. Not anymore. :nonod::nonod:

I rode up on this little guy just hanging out on the trail. He was small, only about a foot long, but where their is one.......................

Starting this week my son is playing T-ball on Monday and Wednesdays. So, how about a group rattle snake search on Tuesday at 6 p.m.? Ridgeline trailhead. I suppose we can also search for mountain lions. :p

·
The 5th knuckle
1,610 Posts
Dang! It's the little ones that freak me out the most. can't see 'em or hear 'em before its too late.

·
Registered
642 Posts
:( Our vet said the one that took out our 12-yr old black lab (almost a year ago... RIP Pig Dawg I'll love you forever buddy) was likely a baby, because according to him, they don't 'ration' their venom, they discharge it all.

Lot of rattlers along the Front Range.

·
Registered
8,605 Posts
Dang! It's the little ones that freak me out the most. can't see 'em or hear 'em before its too late.
I moved here from Tucson. I have been surprised at the rattlesnake population around here. Not much different than Tucson. But, over the years I have run in to many of them. Never had a problem. I could tell you how many times I've been right next to them and on top of them and all that, but my experience doesn't matter because they are unpredictable. But in general, they don't want to mess with you, and with a little awareness, you will see or hear them if they are there.

The only time I heard of someone getting bit was this guy in Tucson who was off his bike taking a picture and stepped on one. He was in the hospital a long time with a serious leg infection. Not good to get bit.