Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
luckiest of the unlucky
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Fisher has been so kind as to send me a new crankset to remedy the chainsuck problem on my Paragon. When I told my bikeshop guy to put a new chain on while he was at it, he was absolutely insistent that I put a new XT cassette on there as well. I know that this is probably a good idea, but I am a college student and my money tree in the back yard isn't bearing much fruit lately. I've only put about 1k miles on a sram pg-970 cassette, although it has had to deal with several bent chains (as a result of chainsuck) for small periods of time.
What would you fine people do in this situation?

·
Registered
410 Posts
Try the new chain with the old cassette on a steep hill near home. Use all the big cogs. If it skips buy a new cassette or avoid the worn cog(s) until you can afford a new cassette. Also, do this sort of work yourself so you don't have to deal with the hard sell any more. A cassette tool is cheap, and you can use your chain and crank as a chainwhip.

·
Elitest thrill junkie
41,021 Posts
JoelM said:
Fisher has been so kind as to send me a new crankset to remedy the chainsuck problem on my Paragon. When I told my bikeshop guy to put a new chain on while he was at it, he was absolutely insistent that I put a new XT cassette on there as well. I know that this is probably a good idea, but I am a college student and my money tree in the back yard isn't bearing much fruit lately. I've only put about 1k miles on a sram pg-970 cassette, although it has had to deal with several bent chains (as a result of chainsuck) for small periods of time.
What would you fine people do in this situation?