Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
King of vegetarians
721 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Iv joked a few time on carbon fiber threads that people can ride cardboard bikes for all I care as long as they don`t kid themselves about the safety blahbalhblah.Well I nearly $hit myself when I saw that Ferrari is now using cardboard in their hybrid car http://green.yahoo.com/index.php?q=node/645 .I can just imagine cardboard becoming the new carbon fiber now,I`m sure that the bicycle industry would love it with the kind of profit margins involved and its "remarkable strength to weight ration".
I guess I gotta think of a new ridiculous metaphor,any suggestions?

·
WTF
292 Posts
I'm sure it is not used in any stressful applications. I am a bit of a mechanic/gearhead myself and have worked on many cars and even restored a '72 chevelle. Cars with as much power as a Ferrari (greater than 400 hp, especially v8's with shi#loads of torque) undergo a lot of stress. Anything like steel, aluminum, and carbon is great for use in high stress areas (frame, ect) but cardboard is probably just put to use in everything possible to cut weight and expense, such as in seats, dashboard, storage area, and possibly floorboards. I suspect the body is plastic or carbon, but perhaps they managed to use carboard (high density of course) in the body. They would used some type of hard sealant (epoxy) and smooth it over to paint over it. Cardboard could never be used in bikes because it has no tensile strengh, or durabity from impacts. Carbon, however, will be used more and more, since it is 5x stronger than steel, and god knows have much stronger than aluminum. Sadly, carbon is no very impact resistance. Putting cardboard in cars sounds rediculous, but today cars are made to be disposable anyway, so why not make them recyclable too?

·
Registered
221 Posts