Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
605 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I thought this was the best forum to get advice. I know Carbon HT high end frames have some durability issues...but my question is this:
Will a FS carbon frame like the Orbea Oiz take some stress off the frame given it will relieve some stress due to the rear suspension? If I compare the Oreba Alma (HT) and the Orbea Oiz (FS)...which would you say has more durability?

It may not even make a difference, but I'm no expert on frame stress points.

http://www.orbea-usa.com/fly.aspx?layout=bikes&taxid=70&pid=157
http://orbea09.ironfly.com/fly.aspx?layout=bikes&taxid=70&pid=410

·
Registered
85 Posts
I wouldn't recommend a full carbon bike, purely because of the price to fix them if they brake. The frame is considerably lighter then most comps, but in my opinion a Specialized or Trek comp would be just as good. These bikes, in a higher model usually offer XTR or X.0 components, whereas the ones you have listed offer XT components. As an owner of 3 different bikes (Specialized Epic Pro Marathon S-Works Full Carbon and suspension, Trek 4300 HT, and a Motobecane Fantom Team FS), I would say the best of the three is the Fantom team from Bikesdirect.com for around $1,895 which is full XTR and sub 24 pounds in a Medium full suspension frame. This bike is made in the same shops as specialized and trek and are extremely tuff and comfortable. If you have the money to buy and fix the Full Carbon full suspension buy it, it looks good, but an upgrade of the components would be a must. Good Luck!

·
mbtr member
6,503 Posts
MTBERMISS said: