Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
462 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know these are most likely questions people could debate the answers to but I've got a FSA K Force Carbon XC handlebar I'm considering using on my El Capitan. I'm 260 pounds and I'm wondering if its a stupid idea at my weight?

Also I'm keen on a gravity dropper and I'm wondering how that would go underneath my hefty arse?

Josh

· Freshly Fujified
8,196 Posts
You should be OK

I'm not a big proponent of CF parts for clydes, but my real concern is more in carbon seatposts than bars. (Not sure why, as catastrophic failure of either spells disaster. I guess my perception is that the post is more likely to snap than the bars, but I digress). As for the Gravity Dropper, I know of one failure. Check the recent post by kapusta in the AM or GD board for details. Other than that, a lot of folks in the Turner forum use the Gravity Dropper seatpost. See what their take on the risk would be, but my guess is that you'll get the thumbs up. :thumbsup:

Bob

· Registered
1,037 Posts
I'm in the Carbon is not for clyde mountain bikers camp.

No expirience with the gravity droppers but would like to hear what you find out. I've thought about them as well

· Registered
450 Posts
dwnhlldav said:

No expirience with the gravity droppers but would like to hear what you find out. I've thought about them as well
If you want the ability to drop the saddle for downhill / technical sections,,, you may take a look at a hite-rite by Breeze and Angle from the 1980's, you can find em on ebay, usually for about 15.00, and while not as hi tech as a gravity dropper, the results are the same, for less weight and a simple solution. I have used them since they were new ;) lol
I would NOT use them on a carbon seat post however...

· Registered
54 Posts