Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Cold Blooded
190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today I went to pick up my Pace RC29 from the LBS and noticed lines and cross hatch patterns on one of the carbon legs, but not the other. You could actually feel the cross hatch of the carbon with your fingers. The owner assured me it would not affect the structural integrity of the fork.
I am nervous running the carbon fork to begin with. Is this a defect? Or am I being too picky?
I had the owner send it back for another one. If I am laying out that kind of scratch I think it should look perfect. What do you think?

·
Registered
1,992 Posts
Sorry I have not seen one up close, but is it an axial (helix) type of weave, or a typical woven cloth lay up? I used to work in the sports composites industry (skis, waterskis, etc), and often times it is the amount of resin in the mold that gives the overall "depth" of the finish. Excess resin doesn't really add strength, just weight, so often the extra was removed, and a top coat of a finishing resin was applied to protect the weave. I wonder if the mandrel (the mold the part was built in) had some variation, or the amount of material put into the mandrel (the lay-up) was a little off. Either way, C/F has a lot of strength and I doubt one will fail because of a difference in texture. However, if you are paying big $ for it, you should get something that is first quality in appearence also.

·
Cold Blooded
190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I really don't know much about the different types of CF, but I have been really happy with my monkey lite bars. Carbon has a nice "feel" and I expected a finish on the fork comparable to my monkey lites.

·
Reviewer/Tester
6,176 Posts
Critking said: