Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
a tight kick sound
1,812 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey All, I'm new to the On One/Planet X/Titus family and also to Carbon. Just wanted to share some pics and ride experiences of my new 456c that I built up last week.

First off many thanks to Michael Golinski and Don "Shiggy" Person for showing me around the new digs in Portland, OR. They were super friendly, very helpful and as you might expect very excited to chat about bikes and riding in Oregon :thumbsup:

After getting the new 456c built up I had a few test rides to get er settled in and work out any bugs that always seem to crop up during the build process. I am happy to report the first ride was flawless and quiet! So we decided to head out for a longer ride this past weekend. The trail: McKenzie River Trail, Oregon. If you have never heard of this trail I highly suggest you look into it! One of my all time favorites and try to hit it at least once per year.

This time we had a coupon for a shuttle to the top of the approximately 28-35 mile ride. So we loaded up and headed out. Here is a pic of us about 30 minutes in at the head waters of the McKenzie River, Clear Lake:

Beautiful surroundings and crystal clear water. The leaves were starting to change as well so it made for some great photo ops. (All pics taken with Motorola droid phone).

The first section on the western side of the lake is pretty smooth rolling single track and makes for a great warm up. The 456c performed flawlessly and I was quite surprised how fast it was. The frame is soooo stiff it made standing and hammering feel like I was back on a road bike compared to full suspension. It was actually so stiff it jarred me pretty hard a few times when I was not expecting it. This makes for a rear end that is instantly where it should be, which is not quite what I am used to :eek: