Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

So this is my first year riding, I spent this summer in japan where some buddies and I went biking every weekend in the mountains. Now I'm hooked and am planning on buying my first MTB when i come back. I've been doing a lot of research and have narroed it down to three bikes:

Specialized Rockhopper Disc

Giant Rainier

Cannondale F5

I chose these cuz i need a DECENT bike under $1000 so i can upgrade as I get more familiar with the sport. Any advice or help will be greatly appreciated (and if you have any other bikes you wish to recommend feel free)

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No, i'm still fairly new to the sport so i'll probably need a good LBS to get me started, but looking more into these bikes I found another dilemma. I want a bike that i'm gonna commute in during the week for work and school, but then during the weekends take it to some trails and literally ride it into the ground.

Looking at the cannondale's components I was very concerned to say the least, http://www.cannondale.com/bikes/07/cusa/mountain/hardtail/model-7FS5.html,
It seems if i do anything to intense with this bike it'll fall apart on me, but i'm thinking the frame is top grade and if I pay only $600 for the bike then i can upgrade the fork right away and have that bike that can take what I give it on the weekends and still keep me going during the week. Or....

I looked more into the Giant Rainier bike and it's components and it's an all around solid bike for $800, http://www.giant-bicycle.com/en-US/bikes/mountain/10/28390/,
though the review for the bottom brackett scared me a little bit. But then if i do buy the bike it'll leave liitle room for upgradeable parts ($1000 cap is what i'm shootin for)

Any opinions?

·
Registered
110 Posts