Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
254 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I now have three bikes in my garage to choose from. One stays and two go. My options are:
1. 2007 1FG Ultra in Medium
2. 2008 29er 1FG in Medium
3. 2009 29er 1FG in Large

My dimensions:
5'10 1/4" slightly long torso with 33" inseam (measured bare feet against a wall with a level pressed up into the crotch with same pressure of bike seat as is typical for this measurement)
My dilemma:
I have been riding the Medium 07 for about 2 years now and love the quick handling, tossability, and ease at which I can manual the front end up and over obstacles.
This bike has a 120mm stem with 5 or 6 degree rise, top tube horizontal measurement of 23.3" per Cannondale and according to my measurement saddle tip to handlebar center of 22.5". It's front to center distance (front axle to center of bottom bracket) is 26.0".
I always felt like I was at the top end of fitting this frame but after riding a Large f800 Furio frame geometry knew that was a tad on the large side possibly.

I just built up both the Med and Large 29ers.
Medium 29er Measurements:
120mm stem with 5 deg rise, 23.5 horizontal top tube and front to center of 25.7". The big problem is the saddle tip to center of handlebar measurement is 21.5" (maybe 21.6")!!! How is this? I have my saddle fore and aft set up pretty close and it's the exact same saddle and seatpost model (meaning the deficit is not coming from there). I couldn't possibly put longer then 145mm stem on there right?
Large 29er Measurements:
100mm stem with 5 degree drop, 24.5" horizontal top tube and front to center of 26.7". When I measure saddle tip to center of handlebar it's exactly 22.5 like my Medium 26" bike.