Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to full suspension bikes.

I have an opportunity to buy a few years old Canyon Spectral AL 8.0 EX for a very reasonable price. It comes with Cane Creek DB Inline rear shock. I am not familiar with full suspension bikes and certainly not familiar with Cane Creek suspension. I've done some reading and I like what I have learned about the shock. I haven't found much info on how to rebuild/service the shock which worries me a bit. Do I have to send it to a bike shop every time?

If I need to replace the shock or if replacing it makes more sense, what would be good options? Or have bikes been built around certain shocks and replacing them will end up in poor performance?

Basically my question is, is the CC shock a good purchase and what my options are?

Thanks!

Sent from my BLA-L29 using Tapatalk

·
:\ ping of death
1,092 Posts
I am new to full suspension bikes.

I have an opportunity to buy a few years old Canyon Spectral AL 8.0 EX for a very reasonable price. It comes with Cane Creek DB Inline rear shock. I am not familiar with full suspension bikes and certainly not familiar with Cane Creek suspension. I've done some reading and I like what I have learned about the shock. I haven't found much info on how to rebuild/service the shock which worries me a bit. Do I have to send it to a bike shop every time?

If I need to replace the shock or if replacing it makes more sense, what would be good options? Or have bikes been built around certain shocks and replacing them will end up in poor performance?

Basically my question is, is the CC shock a good purchase and what my options are?

Thanks!