Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
DO I HAVE TO PAY $360USD AND WAIT FOR 42 DAYS IF I WANT TO ACTUALLY RIDE MY ROCKSHOX FORK AND STILL BE ABLE TO ENJOY THE WARRANTY??

I am a novice rider and intermediate mechanic living and riding in Hong Kong. I am now very angry with the customer service I experienced with the local distributor of Sram/RockShox.

Short version of my story:

Local distributor would not allow me to DIY change fork seals, wouldn't even sell the fork seals to me and would charge $60USD and 7 business days to do the simple service. So in order to keep the warranty by follow the service guide, every rider living in Hong Kong using Sram RockShox forks has to pay $60USD and wait 7 business days every 50hours of riding, that's 2 months if you ride 6 hours a week. So, in 1 year, I should be paying a total of $60 X 6= $360USD and 6 X 7 = 42 business days without a fork to use.

Here is the full detail:

I bought a 2010 RockShox Revelation last year in December. This June, I thought that after 6 months of riding, it is about time to change the fork seals, so I contacted the Sram distributor to buy some fork seals. What I get in reply is : The distributor does not stock and sell any fork parts to any customers, all suspension has to be taken back to the distributor for any service, including changing fork seals. They said that it was to protect the warranty. OK, fine, so I ask them how much and how long would it take for my fork to be serviced, they told me $480HKD, that's about $60USD and 7 business days! This was totally unacceptable, so I of course didn't do the service.