Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
851 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi forgive me for my ignorance. But I have never used tubless wheels before. Am a traditional tube and tire man. Although I hate fixing punctures. :D

I have just ordered a set of Mavic Crossmax SLs and Panaracer Fire Pro UST tires.

I am a bit perplexed about what happens if I hit a thorn or nail. Will the tyre deflate??? If so how do I manage to fix it seeing the tyre will have no tube inside.

Could someone kindly explain.

Thanks

·
Registered
399 Posts
KleinAttitude said:
Hi forgive me for my ignorance. But I have never used tubless wheels before. Am a traditional tube and tire man. Although I hate fixing punctures. :D

I have just ordered a set of Mavic Crossmax SLs and Panaracer Fire Pro UST tires.

I am a bit perplexed about what happens if I hit a thorn or nail. Will the tyre deflate??? If so how do I manage to fix it seeing the tyre will have no tube inside.

Thanks
If you are using the traditional UST rim and tire setup, you will get a flat. If you are using Stans or Eclipse the flat will seal. This link should help you out.

https://www.notubes.com/tubeless_test.php?osCsid=a5660965e6f9cd1322bebd0caec72a8f

·
Registered
2,585 Posts
It probably doesnt work as well as Stans but Specialized and Slime have both come out with sealants that can be used in tubeless tires. KA you will still want to carry a spare tube with you. Tubeless tires go flat just like regular tires. I tore the side wall out on a ride and all the goop inside was of no value. Tubeless tires also can be hard to get mounted without using compressed air.

·
Registered
851 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
borregokid said: