Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I recently purchased a Raleigh Misceo 2.0 urban trail bike. I absolutely love it and am getting about 30 miles a week on average. I live in an urban environment that isn't very bike friendly in terms of commuter trails and traffic so I wanted a bike that would hold up. Specs are here:
Raleigh Bicycles - Misceo 2.0

I'm wanting to explore my riding options and take it out on local off road trails but I'm concerned about how it will ride. This model doesn't have a front suspension fork and I don't know how handling would be in a real off road environment.

I'm relatively new to bike riding but am looking for a recreational/fitness mix that doesn't break the bank and allows me as much variety in terrain as possible. I'm pretty serious about riding and I like to have intense rides and plan on spending most of my free time this summer riding.

I would love to have some feedback on how my bike might handle and if there are any upgrades that would be worthwhile and let me include more rugged trails in my workouts. I imagine a nice trail/mountain bike might be in my future but if I can get some enjoyment out of entry-level trails now with my current bike I would be very happy.

Thanks for the feedback!

·
Registered
5,726 Posts
You have two big issues.
1 tires... The ones you have won't be agressive enough for off-road use, but you tip toe around.
2 - Gearing. the 8 speed 11-32 rear is fine, but the 28/38/48 crank is really tall. It will cause issues with steep climbs, but then again you may loose traction first.

Otherwise if you keep it really controlled you should be ok on the smoother trails.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Thats a pretty rad bike, and good on you for riding the heck out of it. Nothing better than being on a bike, no matter what type!