Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Can I get a good shock for 300 bucks?

1K views 15 replies 12 participants last post by  denmikseb 
#1 ·
I am about to buy a Giant XTC2 and it comes with a RockShox Dart 3, 100mm w/Lockout. I road it in the parking lot and it just didn't feel good. I weigh 230 right now and probably wont get down below 215 for a long while. Originally I was going to be buying a used Yeti that came with a Fox Shock but that fell through. I now have 300 extra dollars to spend on the XTC2 and want to get a better Fork. What should I get? I will be riding in Florida and I don't think there are any "big" jumps around unless I make the long drive to Santos. Having a lock out is a feature I like becuase I will using it to commute as well and need to be able to just get the power down to the pedals to get to work. I've looked at some of the manufacture sites but not quite sure what would work best because I am new to the MTB scene.

Thanks!

Discussion starter · #14 ·
On my road bike I site 99% of the time so I understand how we are "supposed' to ride and I understand why we should ride that way. On my mountain bike though I want to be able to have the fun I had when I was a kid. I will be riding this to work as well as hitting the Florida trails. I want to be able to have fun no matter where I'm at and that means being able to hit little curbs and hills on the way to work as well as jumps and stuff on the trails. I just have been so confined on my road bike to the...well the road and now I have these ideas for being able to go anywhere once I get my mountain bike. I just want to make sure I have the best equipment to do that.

I wonder if the bike shop will allow me to only have to pay the difference in the price of an upgraded shock rather than me having to buy a completely new one.

Discussion starter · #9 ·