Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got back into the sport 6 months ago after a long hiatus. I have a 2013 trek mamba I recently replace the brakes and tires on to enjoy the season while I wait for my Santa Cruz to ship in November. My girlfriend would love to join me on the occasional green, and ideally I would give her my mamba when my new bike arrives.

Here's the issue - I'm 5'7" and my mamba is a Trek 15.5 frame with 2013 geometry. We are both 5'7" and the bike is definitely a little bit small for me. The thing is, she has a shorter torso and longer legs, so theoretically the reach is fine. But when she rides it, she doesn't love the wrist angle and feels like the geo is off.

Anyway, I'm wondering what I could do to the stem to fix a bike that would work fine if the angles were a bit better. Anyone have any advice?

·
Elitest thrill junkie
40,988 Posts
Dropper post? That would go miles IMO to deal with geometry issues while during descent, tight corners or technical stuff (even on flat).

·
Registered
1,177 Posts
Has she ever ridden MTB before? if not, she may not be expecting the more aggressive seated position compared to a city bike. Riser bars, spacers under the stem to get that up as high as the steerer allows, shorter stem or riser stem I wouldn't go too nuts on the stem shortening.

if the wrists are wrong, figure out if it is because the controls are at the wrong angle for green trails or if it is the bar sweep. Again it might be a city bike thing.

To max out her comfort, hit all the touchpoints on the bike: Grips, seat, pedals. I'd consider those before geo. But after you fix the riding position and wrist angle.

if she supports most of her torso on her arms, keep the rides short or else she will get sore wrists and shoulders. With sore shoulders she can rest on her back, but you probably don't want her to have sore wrists under any circumstances!

·
Advanced Slacker
15,778 Posts