Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,
I'm not an expert on our local trails and campgrounds and I know there is a lot of that expertise in this forum. My 11 yr old son is in boy scouts, and I'm trying to plan an outing for some time in the next 6 months where his troop can camp and mountain bike. A lot of the kids have cheap walmart bikes, and some of them have very little biking experience. Our first biking outing with his troop was down Jasper Trail in Anza Borrego and it was a complete disaster. There was deep sand on most of the 10 mile trail and it ended up taking us 5 hours to get the boys through.
This troop is based in Escondido, so I've been trying to come up with campgrounds within 1-2 hours that offer trails for boys of all levels. My only thought so far is to camp at El Prado group camp at Mount Laguna, and take them all on the big meadow loop. Then we could take the more advanced boys on some of the surrounding trails that offer more variety, terrain and challenges.
Does anyone have a better suggestion? Bonus points for a free campground and areas that won't require an adventure pass. Double bonus points for campgrounds that allow open fires. Many of these families are financially strapped.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

·
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ 🚲
13,320 Posts
Big Laguna, there are two main sections for camping up there and the Big laguna trail is single track and fun, but has very little elevation gain or drop and is not technical at all, seems like it would be a perfect place because you can catch the trails right from the campground. They even have group sites for things like boy scout troops.

Laguna Mountain Area - Laguna Campground

·
Registered
2,128 Posts
Hey, thanks for the shout-out, Chuck, and the contact, Jason!