Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,
I will be purchasing my first camelbak for future riding and hiking and noticed that the popular sizes are 1.5 L or 3.0 L. Which size would you recommend @ first? I'm a complete rookie with MTB riding. Thank you all!

Brian M

·
Bloodied but Unbowed
1,498 Posts
3.0L, no question. You'll burn through that easily in 2-3 hours if you're drinking anywhere near what your body needs, even less time on rides with bigger effort.

You can put less water in a bigger container. The inverse of that equation doesn't work so well.

·
Registered
1,948 Posts
Before you buy a Camelbak go to REI or somewhere that has a selection of different brands and try a few on with a little weight in them.
If you're tall you might not like how Camelbaks fit. I love Osprey packs because they fit great, but hate the Nalgene bladder they come with. So I ride with an Osprey pack and a Camelback bladder. lots of people like Dakine packs too.
Camelbak might be the best choice for you, but do youself a favor and try a few on so you don't end up buying another one next year.

·
Thread Killer
131 Posts
If you don't like the fit or the selection of hydration packs (Camelbaks), try a day pack and purchase the bladder separately. It cost me <$25 to make and its the best pack of the four I've had so far.

·
Dirt Merchant
312 Posts
DesertCrawler said:
You can put less water in a bigger container. The inverse of that equation doesn't work so well.
Then why does my boss always want me to fit 10 pounds of shat into a 5 pound sack?

·
Registered
385 Posts
If you know of anyone in the military, get a Camelback from the local PX. They are awesome.

My GF just got me a HAWG for my B-day. It can hold a ton of stuff, has adjustments for all body types, and can hold a second 3liter bladder (I have been searching for this feature for a while).