Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
599 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am signed up for the Ouachita Challenge 80 miler. I have been racing SS bikes for the past 4 years. I haven't really played with gearing too much seeing as most of the races I've done are 20-40 miles in distance. I have ridden most of the Womble trail before and have never touched the Ouachita trail. I am thinking about a 32-19 or 32-20 on a 29er. Seeing as this is my first longer distance race, I want to be able to finish above all else.

I am not going to ask what gear I should run, I am just asking what gearing have you ran in the past? I know that course plays a huge roll in selection, but I am coming from the leave it and ride it school of ss riding. I know the trail offers some fairly long singletrack climbs, with some fairly steep sections. From the sound of it , the Ouachita trail section is where it gets nasty.

Also feel free to throw me some advice if you are an SS endurance freak, or if you have raced any sort of longer distance on an SS. I am getting in some good longer miles right now to really build my base even through this crappy winter weather. I've also been getting out on the xc skis about 1-2 times a week to really work the legs and upper body/back.

Thanks for any heads up. The only times I've ridden down there were on a geared bike and I climbed most of the stuff in a 34-32 as I was riding with some slower, but fairly fit riders. I am really looking forward to this race and hopefully fitting in at least 1 of the NUE series races this year. It might sound crazy but the length of these races while greuling, sound like a blast.

·
upgrade until you suck
190 Posts