Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Judging by all of the pics, there's quite a few riders here in CO on one of James' creations. I recently acquired a BS Highlight and will be running it rigid as a SS but wanted to see what tire setups the rest of the herd is currently running successfully.

I hastily threw on tubed 2.1 Ignitors/Stan Arches for front and back duty (I said duty... hehe) for my first ride this weekend. With the rigid ti fork up front, I'm leaning towards a larger volume tire that could eat up some snow this winter as well as general trail conditions in the FR and Fruita come spring. I'm new to tubeless so still figuring that out as well.

Feel free to critique the current build. Brakes will most likely go to Formula K24s and S&S couplers might be in the future due to my travel schedule.

Blacksheep Highlight, Sliders
Blacksheep Ti Fork (lots of clearance)
CK hubs/Stans Arches/Ignitors
Niner 22T cog (been off the SS for a while)
WI Eno Cranks 175
XTR pedals
Phil Wood Steel BB 125mm +5 asym
Avid Ultimate levers
Avid BB7 brakes, Alligator rotors
Thomson stem
Maxm carbon bar
Moots layback post
Flite saddle
ODI lock ons

"Do these chamois, 2 pairs of tights, softshell pants, neoprene booties, 2 jerseys, windvest, and softshell make me look fat?"

Attachments

·
Registered
433 Posts
Schwalbe RR 2.4

Congrats on the new bike.
I have a BlackSheep 29er SS that I also run rigid in the winter. Not a Highlight but an earlier model. I actually had James add new chain stays to accomodate a wider rear tire as I previously fit up to a 2.1.

Schwalbe RR rear 2.25 and a 2.4 RR up front.
I like the idea of the SS couplers.

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply! I was looking at the RR 2.4 for up front but was worried it might be too cush. Any issues with washing out in the corners with that much volume up front?