Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,081 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I realized that with everyone posting weights of components that our scales are not calibrated. In other words, if I weigh my stem on my scale I might come up with 180 grams. If I weight the same part on another scale it might come back 160 grams. Nothing wrong with either scale but we cannot compare component weights this way because mines will always report parts as weighing more than on the second scale. This may be relevant to me on my own bike but on the Internet, where we can compare components bought by different people around the world, it does make a difference. The problem is that we need to find something that people can compare weights to. In the USA we can weigh ten quarters or average the weight of ten cans or Coca-cola or something. What do you folks think?

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
As long as people are using decent scales (I work in retail, so I use the scales are work which I know are accurate) it shouldn't be a problem. An easy way to check if you scale is reading correctly would be to zero it with a precise measuring device for water (EG a cup measure) then weigh it full of water. A cup (250ml) of pure water weighs exactly 250 grams.

·
Registered
180 Posts
I checked my scale

and my $0.01 scale from e-bay (plus $7.00 shipping) was over by 3 grams with the 250 gram cup of water.
As my cheap scale shows, I doubt that there would be a 20 gram difference with a modern scale at the 160 gram area of weight.

DFH

·
Registered
1,273 Posts
Your scale is off by 5.66882%

Some Guy said:
As long as people are using decent scales (I work in retail, so I use the scales are work which I know are accurate) it shouldn't be a problem. An easy way to check if you scale is reading correctly would be to zero it with a precise measuring device for water (EG a cup measure) then weigh it full of water. A cup (250ml) of pure water weighs exactly 250 grams.