Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
hey im new to mountain biking and i just got a cheap diamond back ht, its got low end components but its good enough for me now.
the disc brakes however, are terrible, almost unsafe. im planning on upgrading to bb7's but i've heard talk about full cable housings for brakes as opposed to partial housing.
can someone explain how the housing affects mechanical braking? thanks

·
Registered
1,173 Posts
Frankly, I am not sure the housing length matters much. When I rode with mech. brakes, I used to lube the points, where the cable entered housings (partial), to reduce friction (dry lube only in any season). What does matter a lot for mech. brakes, though, is fine tuning. Your brakes may be just out of tune, with worn out pads and/or bent rotors - try to adjust them before spending money on upgrade.

·
Rabid Lana Fan
9,821 Posts
I believe when you hear 'full' verses 'partial' in regards to cable housing, it is refering to whether or not the housing runs the full length from lever to caliper, or if the housing is 'broken up' in sections.

For example, a cable housing may start at the lever and then run into a cable stop at the top of the downtube. Then the cable runs exposed (not inside a housing) down the tube, and then there is another cable stop where the next piece of housing starts.

The disadvantage to a setup like that is that there are more openings where mud and grit can enter the housing and cause interferance with the cable operation. Especially if the housing is opened up near the bottom bracket area where a lot of mud and dirt is always flying in from the rear wheel.

·
Registered
332 Posts