Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just started riding a couple weeks ago and I'm using my old bike I got when I was a teenager. Its a 15yr old 21 speed GT that is rigid. It has never had a tune up and surprisingly it still changes gears fairly smooth. I've put about 20 miles on paved park paths with it. My friend has been riding for a while and has a basic model Trek with old style V-breaks and an RST shock up front. Riding his bike is a huge improvement so I can only imagine what its gonna be like once I get my new bike.

I've really enjoyed riding and wanted to get out onto some real trails that we have close by so I started looking for a bike. My original budget was around $700. I've done some pretty extensive research on this forum and quickly found out that $700 would only get me a very basic bike from the LBS or REI. I almost purchased the Diamondback O/D Sport from REI for $700 the other day, but decided to wait and do some more research. Its specs are the best I could find locally at this price point, however its an 8 speed and has a non-tapered headset, but it does have a 100mm XCR with 32mm sanctions so at first glance I thought it was my best bet.

Then I came across Airborne bikes and realized I could get a much better spec'd bike if I bought online. I was reluctant at first to try and do the setup and maintenance my self, but I have a garage and like to collect tools. I rebuild carbs on my lawn equipment and change out U-joints on my truck myself so I think with some reseach I should be able to handle bike wrenching. Usually, if I can find a youtube video or a detailed write-up I'll do the job my self.