Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I've got the opportunity to buy a used 2002 Gary Fisher Paragon hard tail through a friend of a friend and I'd be really grateful if you could advise me if it's still a good buy or not given its age and price.

I'm a relative newbie to mountain biking in terms of knowing what I'm talking about though I do ride every day on an old muddy Fox from my youth so am in need of an upgrade.

It's the exact model as per the following links:

http://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike...002&Brand=Gary Fisher&Model=Paragon&Type=bike

http://www.bicyclebluebook.com/searchlistingdetail.aspx?id=37448

It also has the following upgrades according to this mutual friend who emailed me the spec:
" Shimano lx & xtr derailiers
Bontrager racelite cranks & chainwheels
Bontrager racelite wheels & Tyres
Bongrager racelite stem (upgrade)
Manitou mars elite air/oil forks (Inc. Maintenance pump)
Avid single digit 5 brakes
Easton monkeylite xc carbon bars (upgrade)
Use alien carbon seat post (upgrade)
Hope headset ( upgrade)"

Although I haven't seen the bike in person I've been sent a couple of pictures and my own friend who has seen it says it's in immaculate condition.

The seller friend of a friend is asking for £200 ($340) though I'm told he will most likely let it go for £150 ($250).

I don't mind buying an older bike and from my own research I can see that it was the top gary fisher model at the time but what I would like advising on is if an older bike is still worth buying or could I get a newer bike with similar quality or more advanced components for the same amount of money (still used and around $400 and under)?

Any advice would be much appreciated, thanks, Jon.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3,668 Posts