Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This isn't a terrible thing, but more of a curiousity...

I was an avid biker until my first child was born. At the time of his birth I was riding 3K+ miles per year and I weighed 165 lbs (I'm 6'1" tall). In the 8 years after his birth, before I made the time to ride again, I'd gained ten pounds. Then I started riding again 3 years ago and immediately (within 2 months) gained ten more pounds of muscle and I think transfered maybe 3-5 lbs of the flab I'd gained earlier into muscle as well. (I'm still a little soft on the edges.) I'm now 38 and 185 lbs. I ride about 400 miles a year now. It's not just my legs that are growing. My arms are getting bigger and my stomach is getting more definition, but it's still far from a six pack.

My training typically consists of two rides a week. One on my SS bike of 6-10 miles of tight trails that require a lot of acceleration and another ride of 17-23 miles that is mostly dirt roads with as many hills as I can find (which aren't much in S. MI). The pace on the SS is trail limited to about an average 10 mph and the pace on the dirt roads is averaging 14-15 mph. My goal is to work my way up to the average 16-17 mph dirt road pace I had before quiting 11 years ago.

I was hoping once I started riding again I'd be back to my 165 lb weight, But I'm going the opposite direction. :madman: I'm curious if it is my training method or just old age that is causing me to bulk up. What are your opinions on the weight gain? Is there something I can do to maximise my two weekly rides to get up to my old average speed?

The ultimate goal here is ride the 28 mile Ore to Shore race in under 2 hours. (Harder trails slow my race pace from my dirt road average.)

·
Registered
199 Posts