Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am relatively new to mountain biking with this only being my third year riding. The first year me and my friend would ride about 3 days a week if not more, and I really fell in love. Last year I rode much less and developed some back pain which sidelined me for awhile. I was told I had a bulging disc L3-4 creating numbness from my lower back down into knees. I was carefull to ice and stretch and avoid activities which would cause the issue to flareup (mtbing, golfing, etc.). Over the winter this issue seemed to subside and I thought all was well.

Well recently I have started riding again and the pain is coming back. I do not want to relive last season laying on the floor in pain so I changed up my bars for a more upright positions which seem to help a little.

So my question is does anybody else battle back issues and still ride, especially if the riding is what may be causing the issues? Any tips or tricks to alleviate some pain? I really do not wish to stop riding all together...

·
GONE
25,541 Posts
I've had back issues since Jr. High School and I am now in my late 40s. Up until a year or so ago, riding actually relieved my back issues since my body would super heat from the pushing the cranks and that would loosen me up nicely. My doctor has always warned me that riding could only aggravate my issues but it never did. As I age and arthritis sets into my back and hips, it seems that not even riding helps relieve the issue now. I can say that riding never made it worse, though. Everyone is different.

You should consider having your "bike fitted to you" in case you haven't already done so. I hope you find a remedy.

·
Registered
8,626 Posts