Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am starting a new light very similar to my last one only I want to use LEDs instead of the halogen I have been using. The light will be about the same size as this one,
2.50 wide X 1 tall X 2.75 deep. I want to use the brightest LEDs I can fit, I would like to use the same type of reflector I made for this light, the reflectors will be .75" dia. at the face and I will try several angles until I find the right one. I milled these with a countersinking bit and then polished them to a mirror finish.
Can anyone recomend which LEDs and driver I should be looking for?
I have zero experience with LEDs so any advice would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks! Aaron

·
Registered
3,062 Posts
what sort of a beam are you getting from the reflectors in that light .

As someone who has experimented in making optics for leds and now understands a whole lot more about it than before I tried . it is not that easy .

The most lumens would come down to the MCE / P7 devices , But 20 mm reflectors and optics are not fantastic . it seems that larger is better .

so it would be easier to use R2 leds . now if you are wanting to make and polish your own reflectors then you need to be able to machine a parabola shape as opposed to straight sides and then you need to position the led in exactly the right place . it would be easier to use of the shelf reflectors/ optics .

·
Registered
622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·