Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
BODYSNATCHER
287 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm building my Burner, and hope to have it ready by next week. I wonder, what are you people specing them at? I bought a Sherman firefly on e-bay( gulp) and hope it's the right fork for me. I have a lot of questions since I've never built a bike like this before. I have heavily researched componenets, and the frame was a decision made after (literally) 3 months of painstaking internet/bike shop/testriding. I finally decided on a build kit from pricepoint.com- the '03 XT build kit,with a King threadless headset (of course using MTBR as the source of the link- thanx to this very informative board!!). I realize every one has a different opinion on components, but I was looking for input on the choices you people made. If I sound slightly naive, it's because I am! Please refrain from mocking me... :) the latest Turner convert-
MR MAGU
TIA

·
No, that's not phonetic
14,313 Posts
Umm... isn't the firefly a 5" fork? They are very highly rated and I am extremely impressed with Manitou's recent offerings, but for instance the Minute @ 130mm on my XCE is a bit of a bummer when climbing. I pretty much have to wind it down or it gets floppy up front. I sorta doubt the firefly is going to match the Burner very well, since it calls for a 4" fork. The wind-down travel adjust like on the Minute is great since the spring rate does not change, but on the firefly I think it just has a lock-down which compresses the spring. That means when riding it in 4" mode, the fork is very stiff initially. I am not totally up on Manitous latest offerings so I may be mixed up here. Perhaps describe the fork for us.

Post up any questions. It ain't rocket science. Go slow and we'll be happy to help you if you get stuck.

·
|i|
352 Posts
I recently posted this, but you may not have seen it:
Fox vanilla R at 100mm