Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Building a cattle guard, plans, ideas?

5K views 19 replies 10 participants last post by  ezybike 
#1 ·
I’ve got four trail access points I need to protect from wild horses, I tried setting timbers on the ground spaced like a cattleguard, but the horses step through them, so I need a ramp styled guard.

I can use wood, but. when I priced hardware for a 4x4 guard, the hardware alone was going to run $50 each! Plus wood will break down fast and it’s heavy for hand carrying to the trail

I’m thinking angle iron and or rebar, I worry about the rebar holding up and the angle iron ain’t cheap. 1/2” rebar is readily accessible, but it’s not all that robust, 3/4” would be better but it’s real heavy and harder to find.

The guards will be 36” wide and 4-5’ deep, elevated 18-24”, spacing of crossbars 8” or so.

The guard is only for bike access, hikers can go around.

#8 ·
Yeah, I can weld, carpenter by trade, mostly looking at cost vs time, I was out working on the trails today , got to thinking about using just rebar, bending it at the “top”, then welding cross processes for the “ladder”.

Hardest part is transportation, a 3/4” rebar stick is 20’ long, so I gotta cut it before loading in my van …. but a stick is $20 and it’ll build ~?one guard

#9 ·
The green guard above has 17 cross members.
17*3 ft horizontals+6*4 ft sides=75 feet. not including any vertical supports and foundation stuff.
So that's at least four 20' rebar sticks + burn in rod.
You could go full metal workers and just tie the rebar together with the little metal twisties. That'll probably last a couple seasons at least.
Tack weld too and you're up to a long while.
Rustoleum spray it post welding and it'll outlast all of us.

#10 · (Edited)
5/8” rebar, #14 x 20’, $260 materials, $30 cutter bender rental, next it’s break out the MIG and get busy.