Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, im pretty new to the serious biking world (having only ridden crap-mart bikes) and im looking to build a custom single speed mountain bike and i need some advice. First off, im 6'4" and 180lbs so im looking for a large hard-tail frame, and im also considering 29' wheels. im not interested in any suspension because i would like to keep the bike light/cheap and stay true to the simplicity of a single speed bike. the bike will primarily be used for smooth (mostly) trail and urban riding. I want something light and fast for riding on campus/around town, but rugged enough i can blaze some easy trails in the woods. There are just so many options out there i dont know where to start or what companies to check out. Being a college student im on a tight budget so used parts are a definite consideration. A local shop here (http://freezethaw.com/index.php?section=7) charges 230$ to build a custom single speed mtn bike with mostly recycled parts. i figure if they can build it for 230$, why cant i buy parts and build a bike myself and save the cost of labor and whatnot? im all for supporting the local shop, but at the moment... im poor, you know how it is. can anyone recommend a frame that meets my needs that i can look for used? wheel brands? Hubs? any resources or advice would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
1,684 Posts
I'm not sure from your post, are they charging $230 to build the bike plus the cost of the parts, or is it $230 for the whole enchilada?

Unless you already have a lot of parts lying around, I doubt you can build your own for $230, and definitely not if you want a 29er. There are a some 29er SS's that go for about $600 (Raleigh XXIX, GT Peace, Redline), you might find a deal on a used one on ebay or Craigs.

Or buy an old mountain bike and convert it yourself, probably the cheapest way to go.

·
Jam Econo
4,213 Posts