Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
I <3 bikes
252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thinking about building up a dj bike. Nothing extravagant, but I don't want a complete p.o.s. either. Thinking I could build a decent bike for under $500 using new(closeout) and used parts. The problem is that I don't know what parts to seek out as I'm new to the dj world.

I found a KHS dj frame for $80 new which would be the starting point. Fork would probably end up being a Marz DJ because they are easy to find and cheap.
No clue as to what crankset would make for a decent dj crank. Same with the wheels and hubs.

Advantage to building is that I can take as much time as I need finding cheap parts and I can build the bike with better parts than most cheaper completes come with (xt hubs over formula, nicer headset etc).
Cons to building: Will take months; might end up with a bike comparable to a complete pkg at similar price which means I wasted my time.

Thoughts?

·
Registered
1,715 Posts
svmike said:
Thinking about building up a dj bike. Nothing extravagant, but I don't want a complete p.o.s. either. Thinking I could build a decent bike for under $500 using new(closeout) and used parts. The problem is that I don't know what parts to seek out as I'm new to the dj world.

I found a KHS dj frame for $80 new which would be the starting point. Fork would probably end up being a Marz DJ because they are easy to find and cheap.
No clue as to what crankset would make for a decent dj crank. Same with the wheels and hubs.

Advantage to building is that I can take as much time as I need finding cheap parts and I can build the bike with better parts than most cheaper completes come with (xt hubs over formula, nicer headset etc).
Cons to building: Will take months; might end up with a bike comparable to a complete pkg at similar price which means I wasted my time.

Thoughts?