Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

First post here, long time reader.

I've been riding for about 6 years and just came into possession of a stock 11' Rockhopper comp 29er. I love everything on it but the fork is terrible (80mm suntour xcr) and am looking for some suggestions for a a new/used fork.

I ride XC mostly and am looking for a 100mm air fork, ideally with some form of motion control. I was hoping to keep it around 300 dollars - is that realistic?

A few forks I've been keeping an eye out for:

RS Reba on ebay :)
RS Tora Race
RS Recon gold/silver
Manitou Tower Expert
Manitou Minute

I'd love to hear any ideas, thoughts or suggestions.

PS - I often hear suggestions of selling the bike and upgrading at this price level. However, this frame fits me so well (23") I intend on keeping it and upgrading the wheel set and fork. So i'm keeping it :)

Thanks!

$_57.jpg

·
Registered
250 Posts
i'm no expert but general consensus on this board is that anything with air damper would be a great upgrade. Reba is certainly nice but Recon will be great too if Reba is out of your price range.

·
RAKC
7,599 Posts
Tower expert is an awesome fork for $300new, seen deals as low as $250 recently. Hell for that matter u may even be able to come across a tower pro for $300 (might be too late in the season for that kinda deal but still possible).

Reba used wouldn't be bad as long as its in good shape. Great fork. Recon airs are good too just a bit heavier than tower expert/pro or Reba.

Any of them will be a huge upgrade over ur current fork. OR, and I stress this cause u can get an awesome fork deal, suntour upgrade program. Not sure exactly how the matter works if u buy a used bike but doubt it matters much.

Sent from my Nokia Stupidphone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,748 Posts
Look into X-Fusion Slide 100mm

Picked mine up 299 ebay

Awesome Fork!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·