Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

Newbie here. In process of restoring my Breezer Beamer. Originally purchased off of Ebay a couple years ago. I located a softride frame/beam and bought it for the beam. Breezer layed around for a couple years and I've finally made some headway. Here are the before pix.

Attachments

·
just 1 more
1,153 Posts
Wow, that frame was pretty well used. It is common for these frames to break at the beam mount?

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm not sure. The frame had been repaired before I got it. I'm much happier with the repairs the second time around! It was a blast the couple times I rode it prior to tear down, now just anxiously searching for decals so I can move on to the paint process.

·
Registered
271 Posts
Beamer

I am anxious to see your project completed, please post some pics when you get it painted. I have an Otis Guy Beamer and love it. I went for a ride today and one of the steepest hills locally we call "the wall", about 300 yards of steep climbing. Two young guys, one on a modern FS bike, the other on an aluminum HT were ahead of me and started, but failed to make it up the wall. They stared at me as I rode up and over the wall, seated, no problem. They later asked me at the top of the mountain about my bike and how it could climb that. I explained the virtues of this type of suspension for climbing and x-country, and that softrides weren't too great going fast downhill. They kicked my butt on the downhill, but I had my 15 min of fame. Not too bad for and over the hill 41 yo.:thumbsup:

·
Doesntplaywellwithmorons!
10,913 Posts
That reminds me, I still have an NOS beam kit to do something with.

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·