Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My buddy gave me an old schwinn homegrown, it has a rock shox long travel SID dual air fork that seems like is isn't working, leaking oil & not compressing at all. I called Sram and they suggested two re-builders (hippie Tech & Suspension Experts), but leaned towards hippie Tech.
Anyone have any experience with them or know if it is worth rebuilding old gear as opposed to buying new? I'd prefer to go the cheaper route and see if this grows on me.
kind of surprised that there aren't any place in SoCal or CA in general.

I'm completely new to this, and actually haven't ridden a bike in ages and haven't had this in the dirt yet since the fork is essentially solid. I've just been riding locally to get used to riding again, have a flat now so time for some tools and work on repair skills too!

Thanks for any input!

·
Registered
6,762 Posts
Your call....

but the old SID is likely pretty flexy. They were designed as an XC Race fork so saving weight was the priority over durability and stiffness. A reasonble replacement fork would likely run you between $300 and $400. I'd call Hippe Tech, Suspension Experts, and Push Industries to get a ball park on what a rebuild would cost you. Hippe Tech would be the ones to call first though. They have quite a bit of experience and are more likely to have the parts to do your old SID. If it pushes to much past $200 for the job, I'd say go with a newer fork.

Good Dirt

·
Registered
7,836 Posts
Avoid Hippie Tech at all costs. Just run a search if you want to find out why.

Push Industries won't work on that generation SID.

EDIT: I agree withe AndrwSwitch below on not putting a Tora on a Homegrown. Put something on there worthy of the frame.

·
Fat-tired Roadie
18,453 Posts
Definitely price the work a few places.