Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am sure you hate to see the newbies who ask this all the time! But I am looking for some advice on upgrading the brakes, handlebar and stem, and seat post on my specialized Rockhopper. It's a hard tail. The handlebars are a little to wide. I also want to raise the stem up and inwards. I am 5 feet 4 inces and I have had a little bit of neck strain on the bike. I would love to get lighter replacesments. Is carbon the way to go?

I was a road rider for many years and I am new to mountain bikes. I need advice on reliable components for upgrades. I purchased the bike becuase it seems like a good middle of the road model and one that I can sell easily if I want to move up to a better bike.. TIA!

·
Registered
233 Posts
carbon is only an REAL option for bar and seatpost. I am seriously considering for a bar a Maxm Mx-1, about 120gr, and still pretty wide but not as wide as what you probably have, (mamx is 590mm) and it can be used with bar ends. $66

For stem upgrade I am looking at a syntace f99, although I am not too sure as it may be too weak for me... $80

For a seatpost, I am right now looking at nothing but thomson ($56), though would love some other recommendations that are still strong and with a good clamp like thomson. 31.6 diameter...

·
Registered
4,199 Posts
For me as far as stem and seatpost go, no questions, no contest Thomson. Beautifully made, easy to install and no problems. The stems come in two different rise angles 5 degree and 15 degree and any length from 50mm to 140mm. Here's a link to the sizes:

http://www.lhthomson.com/elite_stem_sizes.asp