Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4,211 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm ordering brakes online for the first time, and I'm not sure which hose length I'd need for a large 29er. Rear brakes are being sold in 1300mm, 1400mm, and 1500mm. Front brakes look to be either 800mm or 900mm. Thanks for the help ahead of time. Since I'm a noob, I am in fact buying 29er brakes;) .

·
Registered
24 Posts
i ordered XT rear brakes and had the same delema, i went with the 1500mm. What a mistake! th cable is way too long. and as for the front the 800 will be fine. 1300,1400 will work for the back with no problem

·
transmitter~receiver
9,334 Posts
bluestatevirgin said:
I'm ordering brakes online for the first time, and I'm not sure which hose length I'd need for a large 29er. Rear brakes are being sold in 1300mm, 1400mm, and 1500mm. Front brakes look to be either 800mm or 900mm. Thanks for the help ahead of time. Since I'm a noob, I am in fact buying 29er brakes;) .
it totally depends on the hose routing. if in doubt, order long and cut them down.

·
Premium Member
48,238 Posts
rockcrusher said:
why not measure the run from approx. where the lever will be to the caliper. Use a piece of string, then measure with a tape measure inches x25.4 for cm x 10 for MM and order the closest.
Inches x 25.4 = mm

1inch = 25.4mm = 2.54cm

I just use a metric measuring tape.

·
Administrator
11,800 Posts
shiggy said:
Inches x 25.4 = mm

1inch = 25.4mm = 2.54cm
thanks I forgot. Been a long time since i live in Canada now and I am losing some of this stuff especially since the US building and construction industry fails to embrace the metric system.

·
transmitter~receiver
9,334 Posts
bluestatevirgin said:
The frame is a Yelli Screamy. My plan was just to buy long and cut down, but wasn't sure how big a pain that would be. I've never bled brakes. I've been using bb7's.