Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Pick up a used Yeti 575 2010 as I'm new to MTB riding. Bike currently has BR-M775 (Deore XT) and i'm looking to improve stopping power. I feel it could be way better. Currently 160mm rotors front and back. I took it in to a local bike shop for a brake bleed but didn't get much improvement. Maybe the mechanic wasn't savvy enough and wanted my business (the vibe i got).

Should i upgrade my brake kit if so what recommendations are out there? Should i maybe get new pads and upgrade to bigger rotors? If so, what size in front and rear?

Any advice would be great! Recently got my suspension rebuilt by Advanced Dynamics and I'm really enjoying the bike and definitely don't want to part it away yet.

G

·
Try 180mm rotors and fresh metal pads. You can always pick up a fresh set a brakes fairly cheap...depending on what you buy.

·
Registered
505 Posts
The most efficient way to get more braking power is to increase rotor size. But (this is very important) make sure your fork will accept the rotor size you want.

Replacing pads is a good idea too. Just keep in mind that, while they seat, braking power will actually reduce. When everything is settled you will see improved braking.

·
Registered
2,634 Posts
Are you going to do the brake swap yourself?

Probably just upgrade to 180 front rotor and set of SLX brakes, or XT.

Unless you are switching brands of brakes, then you can spend a bunch more and get pretty phenomenal brakes.

·
Registered
635 Posts
Are you going to do the brake swap yourself?

Probably just upgrade to 180 front rotor and set of SLX brakes, or XT.

Unless you are switching brands of brakes, then you can spend a bunch more and get pretty phenomenal brakes.
I just upgraded my f and r brakes to SLX. Absolutely love them -- true one finger braking for cheap, especially considering the zillion times we use our brakes.