Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My how things have changed since 2014. I recently sold my 2014 Stumpy because we were moving from Massachusetts to Montana. And I thought it was time to get rid of the brain shock since I don't think anyone will service it anymore. It was a good move since bikes were so scarce. I got decent money for it.

I have been hunting around for a couple months now. Pickings are still slim but I just needed to find one. Norco really was not even on my radar. But one of the shops had an Optic and a Sight in my size. I was intrigued, I knew Norco had a great reputation but knew nothing of their lineup. Heck, I really have not kept up with things for many years since I had the same bike for so long. I went home, did a bit of reading and decided the Sight may be the right play, even though my days of bigger drops are probably a distant memory. But this 54 year creaky body also needs as much cush as possible when bombing around so the Sight needed another look and a test ride.

It was the A1 model. Way more than I was intending to spend but my wife was getting annoyed at me. I tend to get grumpy if I can't get out to ride, so you can imagine how pleasant I must have been to be around after not riding for a couple of months or so. So back to the shop for a test ride. I hit every curb I could find, stairs that could be ridden, you know the usual urban assault. The slack geometry was reminiscent of my days on my SX Trail. But it was "light" and friendly feeling like the old Stumpy. I love the longer feeling of these new frames. It surprised me because I thought I was going to hate it. I always sized down in bikes. Not this time.