Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Just Wanna Ride!
1,374 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Need recommendations for bottle cages that hold bottles firmly. Have tried a couple of composite options without good results. Dont care about weight - just want the bottles to be there when I need them. Have always used specialized alloy mountain cages in the past and may go back to those.

·
Premium Member
48,238 Posts
Need recommendations for bottle cages that hold bottles firmly. Have tried a couple of composite options without good results. Dont care about weight - just want the bottles to be there when I need them. Have always used specialized alloy mountain cages in the past and may go back to those.
Cateye BC-100 bottle cages.
Cheap, light, (nearly) unbreakable, (almost) never drop a bottle, and do not mark the bottles.
I have been using them for ~25 years. Just had one break after 20+ years of use and it still held the bottle fine except in a crash.
Every other one is still going strong and have not lost a bottle regardless of the terrain or crashes.

You can find them on line for $6-8, and they weigh around 35g.
I do recommend using a large washer under the mounting bolt head to prevent pull through.

·
Registered
1,094 Posts
choice of bottle cage also depends largely on your bike frame. With my medium sized 29er HT I can only run side load cages, otherwise max bottle size is too limited. I use Specialized Zee Cage. I have yet to lose a bottle.

·
Registered
375 Posts
Ive been using a specialized zee cage on my epic for the past couple years. Same as quax... *knock on wood* haven't lost a bottle yet

·
Registered
88 Posts
choice of bottle cage also depends largely on your bike frame. With my medium sized 29er HT I can only run side load cages, otherwise max bottle size is too limited. I use Specialized Zee Cage. I have yet to lose a bottle.