Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for advice where people have raced a fat bike. I have been riding a fat bike in the winter for about 3 years. A few months ago, I upgraded to a Borealis Echo. This will be my 4th year racing the Butte 50, an extremely hard endurance race. There is a ton of climbing and I am a 215 pound fit guy. I have problems with cramping about 30-35 miles into the race regardless of what I do. I raced my Santa Cruz Solo last year and improved my time over my previous SC Blur. I think it was 50% bike and 50% more fitness. I am thinking of racing the fat bike this year and I was wondering if it would beat me up too much. The fat bike seems to be doing similar times on my training rides. The race takes me about 8 hours to complete. Fat Bike: 27 pounds/Great climbing/Great cornering/Average Downhill/Super comfortable/
Santa Cruz: 27 pounds/Good climber/Good cornering/Great Downhill/somewhat comfortable after long rides

Any input would be appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
195 Posts
At 8 hours for 50 miles if the fat bike has gearing low enough that's what I would take.
Do you run 1x10 on the Borealis? If it's 2x10 that would be my choice.

I wouldn't think cramping would benefit from either, if one is more comfortable for whatever reason that would trump anything else (since the bikes weigh the same and are similarly capable on this ride).

My fat bike weighs 10lbs more than my hardtail 29er, so my choices are easier. I rode a demo Echo in the Fat Tire Birkie (28 miles, snow) and definitely considered riding one year round. Loved the bike, still haven't justified the price though. Need mid life crisis to come around.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #3