Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Occasionally engaged…
1,774 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm posting a review of my Black Sheep 29er equipped with a Rohloff based upon somewhat over 500 miles of riding under a variety of conditions. Some of it is a rehash of previous reports and it certainly is long. As I planned the bike and got up the courage to go custom, I found reviews on this site to be very helpful so I'm trying to pay back to the system. Furthermore, I've broken the review into two parts, a review of the frame/fork and a review of the Rohloff.

Part 1: A Black Sheep Ti 29er Frame and Fork

I have been cycling for 25 years, both on and off road, and finally decided it was time to go for a custom bike; I ride enough and I deserved something that was not just “off the shelf”. Luckily, I had a friend that had more-or-less interviewed builders the year before so I had a short list. James at Black Sheep had been my friends choice and after James had made me a custom steel fork and fixed a cracked Moots YBB frame that Moots had not been able to and others had either refused to or wanted hundreds of dollars for just trying to, I too ended up using James. He was thorough in his measurements of me and my bikes, interested in my riding style and intent, respectful of my knowledge and ideas, and clearly articulated his opinions regarding the right frame for me. I imagine there are many other builders out there who fit that description. And it all happened at a price point well below the big name Ti builders. What more could I ask?