Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking for a place to shop for gear (racks, packs, bags) for doing extended three to four day trips on a Fatbike (Fatback). I have done some searching but do not have enough info. Would like to hear what people like and dislike.

Thanks again for the help,
Steve

·
PUG U!!!
192 Posts
Outsider said:
I guess the standard way is to order a full set (frame bag, seat bag, gas tank and handlebar bag) from Relevate Designs. Not cheap, but from what I've seen very good stuff.

Personally I made the frame bag myself and bought a pair of rear and front racks to use with dry sacks. I'm very satisfied with my system.

+1 for Relevate Designs!!! :thumbsup:
Eric does a A+ work; also, you get what you pay for!!

Peace

·
Registered
1,188 Posts
There's lots of info on bikepacking.net if you haven't checked it out already. I'm a bikepacking rookie, but Outsiders's pretty much summed it up.

If $ is no object, contact Revelate or Carousel for a full set of kickass gear.

The other end of the scale is ghetto bikepacking. Get some cheap drybags and a rack and strap them to your bike. Maybe make a framebag and stuff the rest in your pack. Jannd sells a cheap, smaller sized framebag that allows you to still use your bottleholder.

And of course there's the creamy middle. Patch your own system together. If you can't sew I would invest first in a framebag. Its easy to strap a dry bag to your handlebars. I've been using a rack in the back. I think its more versatile in terms of using different bags and sometimes I strap tools to it. The revelate/carousel seatbags are definitely lighter and cooler though. I've been drooling over Eric's (revelate) seatbag/shaped dry bag combo for a while.

I give a thumbs up to the gas tank as well. Great place to stick a phone or camera as well as stuff like chapstick, a bit of food to have handy, etc.